Free E-book Forum Specific Routines Muscle building and PCOS- Help

This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Cameron 3 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Beating PCOS
    Participant

Hello,

I have been combating PCOS for the past six years and have managed so far to lose 35kg and develop a very strong and consistent low-carb, low-glucose and fairly low-fat diet. I also don't drink, smoke or binge eat, so my lifestyle is quite healthy. My biggest battle has been finding the right exercise plan for my particular condition. Unfortunately, a major symptom of PCOS is insulin resistance, which means my muscles are constantly being eaten away, while fat continues to be stored in its place. So far I have tried all of these different forms of exercise:

-Weight training on a circuit with high weights, low reps (I have bad knees and I found this to have little effect on loosing fat, however it did damage my knees further)

-exercise bike (to build up my muscles in my knees after the damage was done)

-Fast-pace walking

-jogging 2.5km every second day (once my knees were ok again)

-swimming 1 km three times a week

– I also instruct yoga and pilates at my school that I teach once a week

Currently I am only swimming and instructing my class as I have found that the other forms of exercise have not appeared to work for me.

I have been doing some research and have found that doing weight work is very important for insulin resistance, as well as the cardio work, however I have been a little bit reluctant to start this again after the first time I used the gym and did high weights with low reps. I also find that if my routine is too strenuous, my blood sugar levels drop too quickly and I end up fainting. As I cannot have sugar, carbs and glucose it is difficult to take an energy supplement after or during exercise.